friday fun :)

From Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs by Chuck Klosterman:

“You can’t really learn much about a person based upon what kind of music they happen to like.  As a personality test, it doesn’t work even half the time.  However, there is at least one thing you can learn: The most wretched people in the world are those who tell you they like every kind of music ‘except country.’  People who say that are boorish and pretentious at the same time.  All it means is that they’ve managed to figure out the most rudimentary rule of pop sociology; they know that hipsters gauge the coolness of others by their espoused taste in sound, and they know that hipsters hate modern country music.  And they hate it because it speaks to normal people in a tangible, rational manner.  Hipsters hate it because they hate Midwesterners, and they hate Southerners, and they hate people with real jobs.”

Hope everyone has a great friday!

xx Charlee

6 Comments

Filed under music, random, ruminations

6 responses to “friday fun :)

  1. Meh! I didn’t enjoy country music way before it was cool to dislike country music, and not to be cool, it just doesn’t resonate with me…but if you like country music, I am okay with that. I’ve noticed that some people who love country music don’t respond to hip hop as a rule.

    I also had a look at Chuck Klosterman at Wikipedia, he doesn’t look very cool, though he may very well be super cool.

  2. Charlee

    Haha, yeah, he isn’t very cool, except maybe in an ironic sense. ;-)

    But he is very silly, and one might even say culturally uninformed despite the fact that his writing is culturally relevant, hence the reason I find him so very amusing.

  3. Pingback: cool sounds « The Coffeehouse Chronicles

  4. ha! that is a great book. I started reading it and never finished it. i am going to pick it back up and finish it.

  5. This is a great paragraph. I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for a while, but I’ve had to put it on the back-burner now that the semester has started.
    Oh, and I like all kinds of music…even some country. :)

  6. Charlee

    Crista: Thanks for commenting. :) It is a very cool book! I read it a while ago but I definitely think it’s worth the effort to read as it’s a pretty easy read and quite amusing, in my opinion.

    JoeyGirl: Haha, yes it is probably one of my favourite quotations! It’s a good book, and I totally understand not being able to read during the school year–I would save it for the summer, as it makes a most excellent beach read!
    And it’s cool that you like all kinds of music, and that you keep it real with your musical inclinations…more people should take a cue from you, haha! Thanks for your comment. :)

Leave a Reply

